Nixon Redesign for Fun [Preview]

Preview

30 Responses (page 1 of 2)

  1. Jon Vlasach Jon Vlasach

    Just finished up reworking Nixon's site for fun (specifically their product detail page for now) with a whole mess of states to it. The whole thing is dependent on motion, so I'm braving After Effects to do it justice. Should be up soon... I hope..

    Of course, follow me for updates.

    over 1 year ago

  2. Erwin Hines Erwin Hines

    Say what, I like!

    likes

    over 1 year ago

  3. Dreamix Studio Dreamix Studio

    Love the colors of the watches, gets my attention immediately so that's a good sign :). Good work Jon!

    likes

    over 1 year ago

  4. Nemanja Milosevic Nemanja Milosevic

    wow I like this one :D

    likes

    over 1 year ago

  5. Dhiren Adesara Dhiren Adesara

    looks nice !

    likes

    over 1 year ago

  6. Jon Vlasach Jon Vlasach

    likes

    over 1 year ago

  7. Hiten Hiten

    Always loved Nixon watches. Nice Work.

    likes

    over 1 year ago

  8. Jon Vlasach Jon Vlasach

    @Hiten thanks! same here, always loved products and their style

    over 1 year ago

  9. Zack Travis Zack Travis

    Loving this. Stoked to see the final product.

    (and hoping to seeing some process images??)

    likes

    over 1 year ago

  10. Jon Vlasach Jon Vlasach

    @Zack Travis thanks man! should post real pixels (have about 14 screenshots so far) + animation soon. As for process, I think I might be able to show a little for it– alot of talking to myself haha

    likes

    over 1 year ago

  11. Ryan Downie Ryan Downie

    Looking forward to seeing real pixels

    likes

    over 1 year ago

  12. Marian Brchan Marian Brchan

    Well done! Great design.

    likes

    over 1 year ago

  13. Andrey S. Rodrigues ☝ Andrey S. Rodrigues ☝

    looks nice Jon :)

    likes

    over 1 year ago

  14. Nick Meloy Nick Meloy

    how are you incorporating after effects with web? or are you just using video?

    over 1 year ago

  15. Jon Vlasach Jon Vlasach

    @Nick Meloy I just want to animate it just to show the proof of concept. There's a lot of motion and interactive pieces that track down the page with you that wouldn't otherwise be shown in static JPGs.

    over 1 year ago

  16. Nick Meloy Nick Meloy

    this is going to look great, but always make sure you're thinking of the limitations of css and javascript animation (especially cross-platform/ cross-browser compatibility)... other than that, this look and feel is incredibly sick, great job.

    likes

    over 1 year ago

  17. Dann Petty Dann Petty

    looks cool man, doesn't fit NIXON's brand though which is important, but nonetheless, good looking watch site. i would know :) http://www.behance.net/gallery/NIXONcom/3917521 i did their latest redesign.

    looking forward to seeing some more. nice work. btw, they're looking for a ft designer right now, or were - hit me up if interested.

    likes

    over 1 year ago

  18. Delon Summersett Delon Summersett

    was about to say....thought they just had a responsive redesign...good work @dannpetty

    likes

    over 1 year ago

  19. Jon Vlasach Jon Vlasach

    @Nick Meloy thanks! and good call– with what I have in mind it would probably be a little taxing on the javascript... might have to make some compromises.

    @Dann Petty thanks Dann! yea, I'm for sure familiar with your work and you did a great job with their redesign– I started this one just before yours launched and was interviewing for a position there.. randomly decided to see it through now haha. It definitely doesn't fit their current style, but it's more my take on their previous style that was around when I started it. Email coming your way tho :)

    likes

    over 1 year ago

  20. Gabe Abadilla Gabe Abadilla

    Looks interesting!

    likes

    over 1 year ago

  21. Abe Vizcarra Abe Vizcarra

    I can always appreciate these sort of attempts on some level because they provide us designers the ability to work off of our impressions of a brand, from the outside looking in. I've done it in the past and I think it's a good way to flex our muscles.

    The downside is that context is everything in design. Context provides the objectives we need to understand not the how but the why in our design decisions. This doesn't happen in a vacuum.

    But, I commend your efforts to try to understand the brand and clearly show your support. I think your solution is nice and shows definition in your content and hierarchy in the layout. Having said that, it doesn't seem like Nixon to me and fails to achieve some of the simplicity (and uniqueness) of the brand, the design seems like it could work for a number of other brands.

    Don't take this as an affront, again I'm supportive of these kinds of efforts if it keeps us pushing beyond the brief as long as we keep in mind that in reality the brief makes all the difference.

    Keep pushing!

    @Dann Petty I think you may be talking about me ;)

    likes

    over 1 year ago

  22. Jon Vlasach Jon Vlasach

    @Abe Vizcarra thanks for the comment, and I don't take it as an affront at all– I wish more people would leave comments like this! :)

    This isn't anything more than a creative exercise for me like you were saying. What you're looking at is an expanded breadcrumb state that only partially reflects the rest of the design (arguably could be slightly misleading to the feel for the rest), and doesn't show any conceptual design at all really. Unfortunately as an outsider, I don't have the luxury of knowing the full context with which this design would need to live within for it to really happen. Based off my knowledge of the brand from an exterior perspective and experience with ecommerce, I sculpted my own context and objectives that the design needs to satisfy in my eyes. Surprisingly, I actually held myself accountable to these objectives as much as I hated it– great practice haha.

    Make sure to take a look at the full thing and let me know what you think. And I think you snagged the spot I was originally interviewing for :D

    likes

    over 1 year ago

  23. Steven Schafer Steven Schafer

    dope close button. The whole thing is dope. That Nav... So simple and nice. Love that

    likes

    over 1 year ago

  24. Jon Vlasach Jon Vlasach

    @Steven Schafer thanks man, appreciate it!

    over 1 year ago

  25. Erwin Hines Erwin Hines

    BLOWIN UP

    likes

    over 1 year ago

keyboard shortcuts: previous shot next shot L or F like